Australia imposes new sanctions, Putin's daughters, Senators from Russia
Australia imposes new sanctions on Putin's daughters and senators from Russia

The Australian government said in a statement on Friday that it had imposed sanctions and take trips bans on two daughters of Russian President Vladimir Putin and Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov’s daughter. It follows similar measures taken by other Western nations, including the United States and the United Kingdom, and brings the total number of people and entities subject to Australian sanctions in Russia to nearly 750.

The two Putin daughters were not named, but the Russian president is known to have two adult daughters, Katerina Tikhonova and Maria Vorontsova. On February 27, President Putin and Lavrov were added to the sanctions list, according to the statement.

READ:   Good-bye, "Godsend": Child tax benefits are set to expire

The new round of sanctions also targets 144 Russian senators who backed President Putin by approving the “illegitimate” recognition of the breakaway regions of Donetsk and Luhansk in eastern Ukraine as independent on Feb. 22, according to Australia’s foreign ministry.

Foreign Minister Marisa Payne also stated that Australia will continue to impose costs on Russia by focusing on those responsible for the “unjustified and unprovoked aggression in Ukraine.” Russia describes its invasion as a “special military operation” aimed at demilitarising and “denazifying” Ukraine.
Australia imposed targeted financial sanctions on 14 Russian state-owned enterprises last week, including truckmaker Kamaz and shipping companies SEVMASH and United Shipbuilding Corp.

READ:   Sana Khan looks stunning in a red bridal outfit, See Viral Pics